Battery Empty

23/10/2014 11:21
I was walking around my garden enjoying the early signs of spring. Bright pink Geraniums blushed prettily on the rocks in our backyard. Deep red Bottle-brushes waved their pretty hands as the wind passed by. Little purple flowers formed a colour-splashed collage that greeted me as I sat on my garden swing. Flowers I didn’t know existed kept popping up to say “G’day”. Yes, the verdict was in. Spring had sprung.
 
I rushed indoors to get my camera. I ran back excitedly hoping to capture all that my heart delighted in. ‘Smile, Pinkies’ I said to my Geraniums. I clicked my camera. Nothing happened. Oh dear. Battery EMPTY. What an anti climax! No picture taking for awhile. At least not until I had its battery re-charged.
 
 
There are times in my life when my own battery becomes dismally empty. It often occurs when life has been frenzied and I haven’t had sufficient time to spend with God. I've then had to seek out ways to replenish my spirit. What works best of course is spending uninterrupted times with my Father, listening to Him, soaking in His word; even shedding tears before Him which I always find healing. Works every time.
 
Yes. My Father God fills my deepest need whatever it is at the time. Sadness, loneliness, confusion, weariness, strife, failure, conflict…. and more. Much more. Perhaps my brothers and sisters in Christ and I are like parts of my camera? Every part in that camera is important. Because you know, it will not work with even one element missing, however small; however insignificant. We need each other. And then, perhaps our need for renewal in God akin to the battery in my camera that needs recharging.
 
John 15 explains it beautifully. “I am the true vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” The analogy of the vine and the branches sounds much more picturesque than my own metaphor of a camera doesn’t it? We are all branches on the same tree. If we don’t stay connected to the tree and the other branches, we will not accomplish a thing. If we do stay connected to him, we will all bear luscious juicy grapes for His vineyard.
I’ve just spent four glorious days in Melbourne at my Christian Writer’s conference. And yes, my batteries were recharged – big time. I’ve realised during the past few days that there are two opposite ways I find refreshment. The first means is the obvious one - by spending time in solitude with God. That’s to be expected. But I've also found (with glad surprise) that when I spend time ministering to others, I am once again replenished. He fills me, as I reach out to another; like a hose-pipe that carries water to wherever the water’s needed. He is the Source without which the water will not flow. In the course of ministering to others – His Spirit empowers me and I am filled. What a thrilling discovery!
 
And so I've found that our needs are very simple. We need God. We need each other.

 

Is your battery empty? Would you like to fill it up? Filling it is not complicated.

  1. Go to Jesus.

  2. Care for Others (in His strength)

 
May He who sends rain in due season fill you, refresh you and enrich others through you, today and in the days ahead.

 

“He who refreshes others will himself be refreshed.” Proverbs 11:25

 “And my God will meet all your needs according to His glorious riches in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:19