But God

07/11/2014 21:46
A few days ago as I enjoyed my evening walk, I revelled in the beauty around me. The mountains stood serene in the distance, bathed in evening light. A friendly silvery moon smiled down upon me. Birds flew home to their nests. Silence descended. I relished the peace, sensing God’s loving Presence about me.
 
But not for long. Not for long. ‘Woof  woof… woof woof’. Usually I’m glad to see dogs bounding towards me, because most of the time they are friendly. Not these two. They showed me their teeth. Snarled. Help! Was I safe? I stood still. Their owners apologised and called them off. It was awhile before they left me alone. I smiled and said ‘That’s OK”. Breathing a sigh of relief, I walked on. During the next lap, it happened again. One of the dogs barked loud and snapped at my hand – I managed to grab it back before it took a bite!
 
The precious silence was broken. What a rude interruption to the evening's beauty and peace! I stopped. Looked up. Right above me, the moon was busy, spilling glistening moonbeams around the Oval. I smiled. When I look at the full moon I am reminded of God’s beautiful face shining down on me. 
 

“The Lord make His face to shine upon you and be gracious to you;

The Lord turn His face toward you and give you peace.” Numbers 6:25, 26

My perfect setting may have been changed by two snarling dogs. But thankfully, my serenity had not been disturbed. True – I’d decided not to do an extra lap – because I didn’t want another go at being bitten. But you know, the dogs didn’t detract from my many blessings that day. In fact, the dogs actually amplified those blessings. In stark contrast to the two growling dogs, my blessings remained. The evening was still filled with His fragrance. Remember my blog of last week? I shared that it had been that kind of year. Today I want to add the word ‘but’ to it. Yes, it was that kind of year, but God has been faithful.

 
  1. It was that kind of year, but God drew me closer to Him.

  2. It was that kind of year, but His blessings abounded.

  3. It was that kind of year, but His mercies were new each morning.

  4. It was that kind of year, but my loved ones were there for me.

  5. It was that kind of year, but there was much to be grateful for.

  6. It was that kind of year, but His beauty surrounded me.

  7. It was that kind of year, but I saw His Hand at work.

  8. It was that kind of year, but I've made many new friends.

  9. It was that kind of year, but His smile continues to dazzle me.

  10. It was that kind of year, but I knew that God loved me.

  11. It was that kind of year, but He filled my heart with good things.

  12. It was that kind of year, but my gains outweighed my losses.

  13. It was that kind of year, but I've enjoyed new paths that I've trod.

  14. It was that kind of year, but my cup has run over.

  15. It was that kind of year, but the New Year is bright with promise.

 
The glad truth is that despite the hard times we go through, God’s love and mercies never fail. There is often much we don’t understand about life. Many questions that will not be answered this side of eternity. But God’s love remains – like a glorious sunset that dazzles the evening sky. Like jewelled dew drops that glisten at dawn. Like the delicate scent of a God-created rose. Like the cold clear waves that splash upon the shore. Yes, it was that kind of year but I wasn’t alone. My Father God held my Hand. He travelled the year with me. And now, I can now step forward with confidence into a New Year of life, knowing that the Lord goes before me and I can trust Him fully for all that’s to come.

“No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love Him.” 2 Corinthians 2:9