His Friendship is for You Too!

15/02/2018 17:18
Some years ago, I studied the book of Exodus, enjoying the riveting story of God’s deliverance of His chosen people, the children of Israel. I must confess that I felt a stab of envy when I read that Moses was called God’s friend. I’d love to be called a friend of God too!  
 
A song on one of my CD’s has a catchy tune. “I am a friend of God” it declares in bright, breezy tones. The song sounds a little too brash for the likes of me. The words are spot on and based on scripture, but the tune didn’t convey what that truly means: 

That He is a holy God and that we should fall down before Him in worship and awe, 

thrilled but also amazed at the preposterous idea that He calls us FRIENDS!

 

How could I boast about it (as the tune implies) when it's only

His grace and mercy which make it possible?

I remember a time when someone I looked up to, called me friend. I was both surprised and honoured! How much more of a privilege it is to be called a friend of the Almighty God, Creator of the Universe! And yet ... how often do we stop to marvel at the incredible nature of such a gift? 
 
There was once a troubled young man I encountered who was in dire need. I listened to him, feeling deeply for him as I sensed the confusion raging in his heart.

So do you know Jesus personally?’ he asked.

I nodded. “Yes.”

Wow!” Amazement was scrawled across his face in large letters.

And the Holy Spirit?”

I nodded. “Yes, Him too.” I smiled at Stewart (not his real name).

Wow”. Stewart was clearly astounded.

I hastened to re-assure him. “No! No! No! It’s not just me, Stewart. God’s friendship is available to all people. Everyone who comes to Him in repentance and faith will find Him.”
Stewart sighed. “I’ve prayed the salvation prayer a hundred times but nothing has happened."
 
My heart ached for him. I had no doubt that he believed in God. I had no doubt he was sincere in his search for God’s presence. We prayed together. Stewart asked if he could repeat the salvation prayer after me and he did. I haven’t met him since but I continue to pray for Stewart that his perplexity would be replaced by new life, hope and God’s perfect peace.
The joyful truth is that God’s friendship is not for a select few. It’s for anyone who calls on His name. Yes, anyone! Rich or poor, old or young, sick or well, able or weak, clever or foolish, happy or sad, hopeful or hopeless, bubbly or despondent, whoever we are and in whatever situation, whatever our creed or world view, we are all welcome. 
 

Did you know that the Omnicient Omnipotent God 

who created the world, desires your friendship?

 

Best of all, becoming His friend is not difficult. He simply asks that we surrender to Him wholly, no holds barred. We seek His forgiveness. We repent of all our sin. We accept that Jesus death and resurrection has paved the way for us to reach eternity. We slide over to the passenger seat and ask Him to take the Driver’s seat. Yes, it is as simple as that! And as difficult as that. He does ask for our all. 
 
I am not envious of Moses anymore. I’ve found the joy of having a Friend whose name is Jesus. I’d love to introduce my Friend to anyone who will listen. God desires your friendship and intimacy with you. 

Will you respond? He is waiting for you.

 

“I’ve loved you the way my Father has loved me. 

Make yourselves at home in my love. If you keep my commands, 

you’ll remain intimately at home in my love.” John 15:9-10

“You are my friends when you do the things I command you. I’m no longer 

calling you servants because servants don’t understand what their master

 is thinking and planning. No, I’ve named you friends because I’ve let you 

in on everything I’ve heard from the Father.” John 15:13-15 NLT