I like Red Lights

08/08/2014 15:19
I remember the day I drove my son to his weekly music lesson, and we encountered green traffic lights all the way. It made our journey much faster than usual. But it also caused my heart to go thumpity thump. You see, I prefer red lights to green ones. Usually. Most of the time. Does that sound odd? Let me explain.
 
When I had my driving lessons (in the not too distant past), I would be very anxious as we neared a traffic light – wondering if the green light would turn to amber. A green light’s fine as long as it doesn’t morph into another colour during an auspicious moment. If it changes as I approach the traffic lights, I am known to panic. That split second decision unnerves me.
 
What if I stop to have someone rear-end my car?
What if I go through and receive a big fat fine for it?
What if I have an accident?
 
After I received my licence, I've been doing better. In fact I had 3 green lights in succession one morning last week and I sailed through them with a smile on my face. And no, I did not panic. But I have to confess that when I approach a traffic light I still prefer to have a red light stop me than see a green one waving me on. Am a coward? Perhaps I am. But that’s me. You’ll have to take me as you find me. Oh! Before you shrug your shoulders and walk off, let me also share a few happier traits about myself.
I love mountains and oceans; blue skies and sunshine. Does that sound better? I love chocolate desserts. Yum. Cold weather invigorates me. I relish good books. I’m fascinated by the English language and have great fun playing with it. I perform circus tricks with my long strong tongue – I can even touch my nose with it. Weird? Yes! Oh yes!
 
What else can I tell you about myself? The Word of God is both meat and drink to my soul. Music touches a deep chord within me; I begin the day soaking my spirit in worship songs. I delight in the changing seasons. I enjoy scrunching crisp autumn leaves underfoot. I revel in my own company. So I become extra productive when spending a day at home alone. But I do love spending time with my family too; sharing interesting conversations with my son or snuggling my husband on the sofa, watching a movie together. I love people. Relationship for me is a bright beautiful word!
Why am I telling you all this? Simply because I have traits, likes and dislikes, peculiar to myself. I am unique – or so I am told. But then, of course… so are you. So are you! You are a unique creation, crafted perfectly together by the Greatest Artist that ever lived. Did you know that? Do you realise that there is no one else in the whole wide world like you? This past week, I've been enjoying an interesting study of my strengths and the strengths of others. It made me aware how different we are from one another – and how much we also need each other’s complementary strengths.

 

The Word of God puts it this way: “If the whole body were an eye, where would the sense of hearing be? If the whole body were an ear, where would the sense of smell be? But in fact, God has arranged the parts of the body every one of them, just as he wanted them to be. If they were all one part, where would the body be? As it is, there are many parts but one body.” 1 Corinthians 12: 17-20
 
Can you imagine meeting a body made of only eyes? Or noses? Or feet? Or hands? Picture it. Doesn’t it make you laugh? Imagine a body made of only toes. Or one that has an abundance of eyebrows? A body made of only hair? Or one filled with rows and rows of white teeth? It makes me grin and chuckle as I picture that kind of body.
Sadly, we too often see the body of Christ that way. We expect everyone to be just like us. We frown upon diversity. Do you wish you had the gifts which your neighbour displays so well? Do you feel you are less worthy because your abilities don’t shine as brightly as hers? Let me remind you that God created you the way you are. With your strengths. With your unique abilities. Your laugh. Your smile. Your walk. Your voice. Made with purpose. Made with joy. To reflect God Himself to the world.
 
The wonder of the body is in that every part is unique and with its own special function. The wonder of the body of Christ is that we are made to fit together; to work together. You are needed. I am needed. Each one of us is needed. Together, we make sense. Together we have a purpose. To bring glory to our Creator. As an orchestra creates beautiful music with many different instruments. Like a book needs every chapter to create the perfect story. As a house needs a foundation and a roof; its doors and windows, its floors, its brick walls … to make it whole. So let’s link our lives together – making sure that every member feels useful and needed.
 

Together let’s bring glory to the One who created us.

“But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.” 1 Peter 2:9