If at first you don't succeed...

21/10/2015 22:08
Monday morning. I clamber out of bed, my eyes full of sleep. I make my way to the kitchen. I get my beloved’s lunch ready; pack it with a dollop of love, then go outdoors to wave him off to work. Back inside, it’s time to send off my blog emails—to family and friends who do me the honour of reading my blog each week. Next, I log onto facebook.
 
In times past, posting my blog was a simple matter. Facebook automatically selected a picture from each blog to place next to my status. After awhile though, FB stopped selecting a relevant picture. With some effort I worked out how to deal with the problem. I found I could go to my Facebook Author page, select a picture and post my blog there. I was able to then share it on my own wall. Problem solved.
 
Two Mondays ago, I was taken aback to discover that Facebook had changed again. It would not allow me to do the needful. Thus began several unsuccessful attempts to post my blog. I first posted two pictures together – but that didn’t look right – so I scrapped it. Next I tried to delete one of them but that didn’t happen. I posted my blog 7 times that day before I got it right. Yep! SEVEN! I almost gave up, but just when I was ready to I slink off to sulk, my tail between my legs, I finally got it going. Hooray.
45 wasted minutes that day to post my blog link. Whew! A record. I remember a saying I liked when I was a teenager: ‘If at first you don’t succeed, it’s a normal life you lead. If at first you do succeed, try not to show your astonishment.’ Tis true. Success rarely comes easy. To most of us.
 
Here are a few thoughts on how to cope when success evades me:
  1. Sleep on it

  2. Find a different way to do it
  3. Change my focus as I deal with it

  4. Talk to someone who knows more than I do
  5. Turn my attention to other things – and get back to it when rested

  6. Learn from it. Humility is always great lesson
  7. Seek God and pray about it 

  8. Succeed at other things
  9. View it differently

  10. Smile anyway
What does success mean to you? Success in the world’s terms is often not what God requires of me. As a disciple of Jesus, I believe that being successful is to become the person He created me to be. That I am faithful to all He calls me to. That I live a life of integrity and purpose. That I love God and love others. That I use the gifts God has blessed me with. That I do what I can when I can and how I can. That I am kind. That I learn to serve God and His world.
 
Do you gauge your life today by what others do or by the words of another? Do you feel a failure because you imagine your life doesn’t measure up? Perhaps today’s the day then to dust off those wrong suppositions? 
If you've done your part and done your best, give yourself a thumbs up today. Well done my friend. Well done! And what if you've failed Him in some way? That’s OK you know. Our God is a God of second chances. He welcomes you the moment you turn to Him in repentance and in trust. He is waiting for you. So celebrate your achievements today however small they are. Step forward into an exciting new chapter of your life. 
 
If at first you don’t succeed, it’s a normal life you lead. 

If at first you do succeed, try not to show your astonishment!

“And what does the Lord require of you? 

To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.” Micah 6:8