Life is a Treasure Hunt

15/06/2018 19:31
Every morning, I put on my favourite worship music as I prepare to enter into God’s presence. Music draws me closer to Him, it adjusts my heart’s spiritual thermostat warm enough so I can hear Him. A few days ago, I found that the plastic cover of a set of CD’s I prized was cracked and broken. Time then to find a new home for them. I’d collected several empty CD covers last year while packing boxes to move house and had kept them safe for such a time as this. But now that I needed them … where were they? I had no idea.  
 
Oh well, I would hunt for them later. I opened a drawer in my den to get the box of chocolates I’d placed there (a gift to a friend). But oh dear! There was no sign of it. I tried the other eight drawers in the unit until I found it—and guess what – it was in the original drawer I’d looked in after all. I’m happy to say that my hunt through the those eight drawers had not been in vain. One of the them contained a bunch of CDs. Oh? Could my CD covers be in there? They were. Eureka! Three perfect plastic covers presented themselves to house my precious CDs. And without even my searching for them. Wow! Thank you God.
Life’s like a Treasure Hunt don’t you think? We’re constantly on the lookout for goodies that enhance our lives—spouses, houses, careers, money, children, jewellery, cars … and that's just for a start! It’s interesting though that the treasure we find is often not the treasure we seek. Or the treasure we’ve found is a by-product of seeking other treasures. Know what I mean?
 
When my son was 1 year old, I missed being part of a  Christian ministry. I sought God about it and soon, He led me to begin a support group for mums and toddlers. Two years into that beautiful season, my son faced challenges at his pre-school. We home schooled him as we searched high and low for the right kind of setting for him. A friend at Mum and Me told me about a little pre-school with an exceptional teacher who had a very small class of students. It was just what Asela needed and he thrived there.
The little snippet of information was treasure. It was found not by looking for it. No. It was simply a by-product of my obedience to God. If I hadn't started Mum and Me, I would not have found it because I would not have known the new friend who shared it with me. That wonderful truth encourages me—even now, over 25 years on, as it reminds me that Obedience is the way to live this Christian life. Jesus commands us in Matthew’s gospel not to store treasures on earth that are easily destroyed. He asks us instead to store treasures in heaven. I must admit that I have sometimes pursued earthly treasures in place of heavenly ones. God has gently prodded me then… reminding me where my joy comes from. Not from possessions, people or places but from God Himself. He is my Treasure.
 
When I follow Him in sincerity of heart, I find new riches. I reach out to help another and find my own emotional tank is topped up. I sacrifice my time, treasures or talents to bless another and discover that I’ve grown in maturity and learnt how to love. I forgive one who hurt me and find peace in my soul. I spend time with Jesus and He gives me deep joy. I give away something I value to someone who needs it and soon wear the golden crown of contentment. Yes, the treasures we unearth from our walk with the Lord are priceless.
The Word of God is the best Treasure Map I know. In it, I find riches beyond compare, a road that leads to life, guidance on how to travel that path, magnificent promises that enlarge my boundaries, life in all its fullness. 
 

What kind of treasures are you seeking today? And what kind of treasures have you discovered? I’d love to hear about them. Wishing for you the kind of treasure that will bring lasting joy into your life and into the lives of those you love.

 “The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field. When a man found it, 

he hid it again, and then in his joy went and sold all he had and bought that field.” 

Matthew 13:44

 
 

“The Lord is exalted, for he dwells on high; He will be the sure foundation for your 

 your times, a rich store of salvation and wisdom and knowledge; the fear of

 the Lord is the key to this treasure.” Isaiah 33:5,6

“I will give you hidden treasures,  riches stored in secret places, so that you 

may know that I am the Lord,  the God of Israel, who summons you by name.” 

Isaiah 45:3