The Little Things

15/08/2014 13:12
Last year was a year of breakages. You name it; we had it. Or rather …we didn’t have it. Our washing machine broke and had to be replaced. Ditto for our dryer. Our car tyres needed changing – all four of them. Our garage roller door had to be fixed. It was a very expensive year. Ouch! But none of these created as major a crisis, as fixing an inexplicable patch which had crept into a corner of our guest room carpet.  
 
Where-ever did that patch come from? My brilliant Engineer husband set to work to ascertain if the leak came from our washing machine, the shower or somewhere else. I was very impressed by his scientific experimental methods. They paid off. He found that a tiny leak inside the shower wall gave rise to that mysterious patch on our guest room carpet. One dilemma solved. Another dozen fresh ones evoked.
 
It’s amazing how one little problem could lead to so many others. The shower tiles needed to be broken so that the leak be fixed. That was only the beginning. Part of our hallway wall had to be removed. Its timber was checked every few weeks for water damage. We lived with this hole in the wall for 8 long months. The carpets would need to be replaced due to the water damage. What a rumpus from one little leak.
 
Each time the timber was checked – we were told that it needed to dry some more before action could be taken. We had no choice but to exercise a great deal of patience. Finally one day we received the OK. Hooray! Our bathroom tiles (both wall and floor) were replaced. The half wall that wasn’t, became a half wall that was. It was painted over. Last but not least, the guest room and hallway carpets were stripped and replaced.
I can assure you that the three of us had wide smiles on our faces once the work was all completed. What a to-do over one tiny leak. Who would have thought it would send us on an action packed adventure of breakings, fixings, paintings and doings. It reminds me of a little poem from far back in history.
 
“For want of a nail, the shoe was lost.
For want of a shoe, the horse was lost.
For want of a horse, the rider was lost.
For want of a rider, the battle was lost.
For want of a battle, the kingdom was lost,
And all for the want of a horseshoe nail.” Unknown
 
My take on this poem is that little things often have great consequences. My household saga proved it. One little leak in our home cost us a great deal of inconvenience, time, energy, money and patience. The little things in my life have the potential to become the big things.
What then are the little things that my life is built on?
  1. My thoughts. My thoughts have a way of creating my life.
  2. My Words. Do I speak words that bless and build up?
  3. My Actions. Even the littlest of them have consequences.
  4. My Relationships. Are they healthy and thriving?
  5. My day to day plans. Am I being obedient to God?
What are the small leaks in my life that may cause big breakages?
  1. A harsh word. It might be small– but could hurt someone badly.
  2. Unforgiveness. Letting go of the past is the only way to live.
  3. My use of time. My time is a gift from God. Am I using it right?
  4. Misunderstandings. Little misunderstandings often lead to big battles.
  5. Pride. If I do not walk in humility – God cannot  use me.
 
One day, I might wake up and discover that the little things in my life caused a lot of turmoil and heartache. It reminds me to repair those microscopic leaks before my house needs to be broken up. It propels me to deal with minute aspects of life. So that what flows from within me will cause wholesome beautiful ripples which will bless God’s world.
 
“Who is wise and understanding among you? Let him show it by his good life, by deeds done in humility that comes from wisdom.” James 3:13

But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure; then peace-loving, considerate; submissive; full of mercy and good fruit; impartial and sincere. Peacemakers who sow in peace raise a harvest of righteousness.”

James 3:17, 18