The Power of Two

12/03/2015 18:06
In the first 14 years of our marriage we moved 11 times in 4 countries. Isn’t that impressive? When we’d made our 11th move into our cosy little nest in Adelaide, I hoped we’d never move again. Thankfully, in the next 15 years of marriage we have stayed put. What bliss. The years have disappeared in the blink of an eye. And in that same blink of the eye, our house has become crammed full of goodies! Know what I mean?
 
Yes, one desirable consequence of those numerous moves was that we regularly de-junked our home without even planning to. Very good for the soul. And the home. One negative outcome of being in the one home for 15 years is that every available space seems to be now filled. Book cases have numerous rows of books. CD's, DVD's, ornaments, lots of this and that fill our little home.  Perhaps its time we moved again?
 
Or maybe it’s simply time to shed our excess baggage. Last year, I had the golden opportunity to do something about it. I lost my job. Not a happy happening. However, as it with most negative circumstances – there were plenty of positives in what occurred. For one, it freed me up some time. Time to reflect. Time to pray. Time to spend with my husband and son. And even time to de-clutter our home. I took up the challenge. Unfortunately, my body doesn’t approve of such challenges. Fibromyalgia means that the slightest bit of exercise makes my body protest insistently, like the loud clanging of a bell.
 
As I was slowly working my way through de-cluttering and cleaning out my kitchen cupboards this past month, I’ve had to pace myself. Every time I tackled one cupboard, fibro exhaustion came to stay. I had to rest for several days afterwards before I could even think of tackling one more cupboard. It was frustrating to say the least. Thankfully, one day, like the radiance of the winter sun, a bright idea dazzled me.
I asked my son if he could empty the contents of each cupboard for me. I would do the rest. I’d clean the cupboard afterwards, throw out what could be thrown away and re-arrange the cupboards. That worked well and I was able to complete my task right on schedule. Now, I am the proud owner of a workable kitchen where everything is in its rightful place. Makes me feel good all over.
 
As I expressed my gratitude to my son for his welcome help, I marvelled at a fresh lesson learnt through the exercise. The power of two! The glad truth is that life is not meant to be lived alone. God has given us other people to do life with. We sometimes forget that. It’s easy to think we can make it on our own. But we need God and His help. And we need each other. Jesus sent his disciples out two by two with good reason. 
 
Many years ago, God led me to start a mininstry for Mums and toddlers. But He first equipped me with a praying friend. Having her help and support made a huge difference. Years later I began another God led ministry. My prayer partners at the time asked me to wait till God sent me a partner. They were right. I needed my helper there too in order to do the job well. Two together can do things that one alone cannot do.
The book of Ecclesiastes reiterates this truth. “Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their work: if one falls down, his friend can help him up.” Ecclesiastes 4:9,10 It’s a good principle to consider when stepping into a new ministry or job or enterprise or vocation. In the area of prayer for instance, two agreeing in prayer breaks many barriers and releases God’s power in special ways.
 
Besides, life is not meant to be lived in isolation. Problems are meant to be halved. Joys could be doubled. Tasks are made lighter. As I've reflected lately on my parents' marriage and partnership, I've seen firsthand what the power of two can accomplish. And of course, with God in the equation, the power of two bursts forth in unparalleled magnificence to bring forth mature fruit that blesses and sustains. Never under-estimate how much you can achieve when you join hands with another, especially when God’s wind is beneath your wings.

“Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves.

A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.” Ecclesiastes 4:12