The Right Person

27/02/2015 14:49

In September 2014, Mum emailed her three daughters with a request. She’d been asked to write an article for the Sri Lanka Girl Guides Association. Mum asked us if we could share some of our Guiding experiences which she’d use in her article. Sadly, Mum passed away before she could write it. When I went to Sri Lanka for Mum’s funeral, I was asked if I’d I write it. Of course I said ‘yes’ at once, very glad to do something for Mama. I knew she’d have been pleased. I also wanted to honour Mum’s commitment to the cause. I gave this lovely lady my card and assumed she’d get in touch with me.
 
The next few weeks were a whirl of activity. As I settled down to life back in Adelaide and life in the world without Mum – I remembered my promise. But I had one small problem. I didn’t have any contact details for the lady I’d spoken to. I set about trying to contact her. I asked a friend if she knew her email address. She didn’t have it. I checked the Sri Lanka Girl Guides website. I sent a few emails to people listed on it.
 
There was no response. I wondered if the task had been given to someone else. I was fine with that. But I didn’t want to let Mum down nor the lady in charge. So decided to send one more email. If it didn’t bear any fruit – I’d leave it. As I scrolled through the list of names on the Girl guides website, one name stood out. The name was familiar. I shall call her Mala. Mala had been head girl of our school when I was 11 years old. She was very popular in the school. And even though I didn’t know her personally, she’d made a big impression on me. I have never forgotten her.
I sent her an email. Guess what! Within a couple of hours Mala had responded. I was amazed. She’d even spoken to the lady in charge. She had contacted the Guiding Commissioner. Talk of efficiency. Mala was the lady to contact. No doubt about it. She did her part quickly and efficiently. Mala was the right person. She did what was needed. She responded to my email. She made my life much easier. Thank you God for all the Malas of this world. Those who are the right people.
 
What does it mean to “be the right person”? I think the ‘right person’ is one who can be trusted. Someone who’s responsible. Sincere. One you can count on. Willing to go the extra mile. A person who is sensitive to the needs of others and responds speedily.  
 
The book of James reminds us that our faith must be evident in godly living. Our actions must clearly prove we are followers of Jesus. “Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says.” James 1:23. James goes on to tell us that if we read the word but don’t obey it, we are like people who look at themselves in the mirror but don’t do anything about what we see.
If the mirror reveals I have a black smudge on my nose, I would do well to wipe it clean. If my hair looks dishevelled in the mirror, it’s best I comb it. If I only look but don’t act on what I see – I would be foolish. And likewise, being a follower of Jesus means that not only do I believe all the Bible says, I work at changing the wrong behaviours I see in myself. I chase instead the right behaviors. With the help of the Holy Spirit, I do my best to change – from the inside out.
 
Are you the right person? Am I the right person?
 
Let’s prove we are the right people today.

Let’s do whatever is required of us.

Let’s go the extra mile.

Let’s please God and love our neighbour.                                    

Let us love, not just in thought but also in deed.

“Who is wise and understanding among you? 

Let him show it by his good life, by deeds done in the humility that comes from wisdom. 

 

But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure; then peace loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere. Peacemakers who sow in peace raise a harvest of righteousness.” 

James 3:3:13,17-18