The Way that He Loves

11/09/2014 22:54
I was looking for a good picture to post on Facebook on Father’s Day. I turned the pages of an old photo album, recalling the thrill of each moment captured in each picture. A vivid, bright kaleidoscope of memories danced before me in 3 dimensional splendour. Pictures of my husband with his baby son spoke out loud in my ear. From the ‘Hooray! It’s a boy’ moment when our baby first entered the world, to the ‘Well done, son” when he graduated 2 ½ decades years later, the years in between have been filled with a Father’s unique care, pride, sacrifice, commitment and precious potent persistent LOVE.
 
I would be often be jealous when my little son chose his father over me.  If I was nursing Asela when Shan entered the room, our little man would stop drinking at once – turn his head and look for his Dad, chuckling excitedly. The life giving milk I offered him was apparently no comparison to his Dad’s presence. (Hmmm…) When we took little Asela to our health nurse for his regular check up – our baby would usually ignore his Mum who was his chief caregiver. Instead, he’d interact gleefully with his Dad. It made me feel inadequate as a Mum. Yes, I was a little jealous then. But not any more.
 
Not any more. A son needs his Dad, especially as he grows up. I’m so grateful that my husband and son have always enjoyed a very close bond. What more could a contented wife and Mum ask for? As I drank in those pictures recently, they opened my eyes in more ways than one. I realised with glad surprise that the pictures I gazed on also told a different kind of Daddy story. The story of God’s dealings with all His children.
A picture of my husband gazing on his baby son, tells me that God does the same with me. The scriptures share that God keeps me as the apple of His eye. He watches over me. He never slumbers nor sleeps. He looks on me with tenderness. He cares for me. He holds me in His arms. He keeps me safe from harm and danger. Precious Daddy God.
 
 
Not only does God hold me close, but He also speaks to me; smiles at me; listens; interacts; laughs. He builds an intimate friendship with all his children. He desires to be closely entwined in our lives. Heartwarming knowledge!
 
 
God interacts with millions of people in our world – but it doesn’t stop Him from interacting with every single individual, in a deep and personal way (when they too desire it); even for a moment. How does He do it? I don’t know. He is Omni present. He is God the Father. And so I am secure in the ‘sling’ of His care – remaining there with Him – my all sustaining, all powerful Father. Incredible God!
 
 
My husband was writing his PHD thesis during the first 6 months of our baby’s life. Our little one often sat on Daddy’s lap as he worked at the computer. The wonderful news is that God too allows us to sit on his lap and work with Him as He reigns over His world. Yes; believe it or not, the great God and Ruler of the Universe asks us to join Him in caring for His Creation. He chooses to use us to accomplish His purposes. Amazing God!
 
 
 
And the last picture… here’s my little six month old being dandled on top of his Daddy’s head. Shan held him high – showing him off to the world. Did you know that God wants to show you off too? He does. He does. Let me give you proof. “Then the Lord said to Satan, ‘Have you considered my servant Job? There is no one on earth like him; he is blameless and upright, a man who fears God and shuns evil.” Job 1:8
 
What was God doing there? I believe he was ‘showing off’ Job to Satan - in the nicest possible way. Just think of it. We parents love to brag about our children. Your heart swells with pride - when your child smiles his first smile, cuts his first tooth, take his first step, starts school, wins a race, does well in exams, graduates, gets married and …on and on and on infinitum. How much more would God’s heart be filled with pride over us – His creation; His pride and joy; His children?
 

The way that God loves is as fresh as the cool autumn breeze;

as stunning as the stars in a dark night sky.

 

The way that He loves is as intimate as a lover’s tender glance;

as strong as an Eagle’s wings. 

 

The way that He loves is as sure as the sunrise;

as all encompassing as Eternity.

 
 
 

“For as High as the heavens are above the earth, so great is his love for those who fear him.” Psalm 103:11

 

“But from everlasting to everlasting the LORD’S love is with those who fear him, and his righteousness with their children’s children.” Psalm 103:17

"Though the mountains be shaken and the hills removed, yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken nor my covenant of peace be removed,” says the LORD, who has compassion on you.” Isaiah 54:10