You Have what it Takes

16/07/2015 15:11
Last week, we spent several happy days with my much loved daughter niece. We welcomed her with open arms to Adelaide. We even had on offer the weather she was used to – wintry rain, cold breezes and invigorating temperatures, much like the climate in Canberra. I’m kidding. Ashi prefers the warmer climes, so I asked God to for some sunshine before she left. He blessed us with perfect weather for Ashi's 24 hour birthday bash, splashed with gold sunshine and nature's lush bounty. What an awesome gift. Thank you God.
 
Last Tuesday, Ashi and I took the O bahn to the city and spent a happy hour at the Koorong bookshop. Later, we walked to the bus station where she hopped on a coach to Whyalla – to relish some time with her aunt and uncle. I saw Ashi into her coach; waved at her after she was seated, then returned inside the bus station. Outdoors, it was raining. I’d have to wait till it cleared up before venturing outside. It was then that I noticed.
 
My precious little stylus was missing – the one I use to type text messages. My fingers often tap the wrong keys, so my stylus was an invaluable tool. I hunted for it in the numerous compartments of my capacious handbag, but no – the stylus had vanished without a trace. Oh dear! I walked the length of the bus station to check if I’d dropped it. I didn’t find it. I went back to where my niece had boarded the bus and waved at her again. It was good to have another glimpse of her, but no; no sign of that stylus. Oh well. It could have been worse I thought to myself. I could have lost my wallet or my phone. I counted my blessings.
 
Nevertheless I couldn’t stop looking for it. I whispered a prayer. I put my bag down and pulled out all of its contents. A few minutes of hopeful hunting elapsed and then ...eureka. I found it. It was hiding in the compartment that held my glasses, prayer diary and pen. Hooray!
 
As I walked out, God gently reminded me of a truth. That I often look outside myself for answers that are found within. Know what I mean? I’d been on a very interesting ‘journey’ during the last 6 weeks – one initiated by God Himself. He led me to new crossroads. I stood there perplexed. On my left was a brand new path to explore. It held new opportunities; it offered many good reasons to veer off my track. To my right was the street that led back to a familiar place. As I mulled on the pros and cons of the two choices - my mind suggested that I follow the brand new route to the left. But ……I had no peace. I looked to God for help and His Spirit nudged my heart. The answer was suddenly obvious. My heart led me to back to the place that was right for me. I was filled with joy.
There was another tough season which was almost too difficult – a terrifying perplexing ride in the dark night through a murky forest. I had to dig deep into my inward being in order to keep going. I thought I wouldn’t make it. But I did. It’s not till I am forced to it that I discover the joyful truth that I do have more inside me than I give myself credit for. And I mustn’t forget - I belong to the One who will provide me with all that I'll ever need.
 
In times past, when trouble knocked on my door, I’d first run to a friend for help. Not any more. God’s shown me over the years that He, not my family or friends should to be my first port of call. After all, He knows everything about everything. God does often bless me through those close to me. But I’m glad I've finally got it. I don’t have to look far to receive help in time of need. He is always there for me. And He is near.
Are you facing tough times? Are you (like me) prone to panic when life's storms erupt? Do you rush to get help from friends  before looking to the Captain of Life's Ship? As a disciple of Jesus, you have untold riches inside of you. So do look in and dig deep. And don’t forget. His Holy Spirit is leading you on, with wisdom, strength and power. His Word is a living map that instructs, equips and enables.
 

You can do it. 

You will make it.

 

"Today may there be peace within. May you trust that you are exactly where you are meant to be. May you not forget the infinite possibilities that are born of faith in yourself and others. May you use the gifts that you have received and pass on the love that has been given to you. May you be content with yourself just the way you are. Let this knowledge settle into your bones, and allow your soul the freedom to sing, dance, praise and love. It is there for each and every one of us.” St. Therese of Lisieux

Wishing you the thrill of God discovery and of self discovery.

May the pathways of life always bring you to higher ground.

May growth, love and joy be your close companions.

And may His Presence be your Guide, until the end of time.